Bad Business Decisions: Part II

by karlhenk

Milton, Ohio — Any good businesses should subscribe to the adage, “Any publicity is good publicity.”

Especially when it’s good publicity.

But some business owners can’t seem to get over their irrational fear of the media.

Sure, the media screws up frequently, but ignoring the media altogether is one of the worst business decisions.

For a story that will run in Sunday’s Vindicator, I visited a small, rural township for an all encompassing story on how the area is changing economically, environmentally and structurally.

I figured it’d be a good idea to stop and talk with a local party store owner, but when I arrived, I was greeted by a worker who, after pitcher her my idea, told me the owner refused to speak with me because our paper “can’t get (y)our story straight.”

Which story?

What was wrong with it?

Care to elaborate?

Nope. The cowardly owner also refused to leave her back-room office.

Maybe the owner was previously wronged by another media outlet. Maybe it was the media’s fault.

This time, though, in a no-lose, free-publicity situation, the blame is solely on her shoulders.

I won’t name the owner or the party store.

Why?

Because any publicity is good publicity.

Follow Karl Henkel on Twitter, friend him on Facebook.

